» News » 15 MLAs from Telangana quit over Centre's terms

15 MLAs from Telangana quit over Centre's terms

By Mohammad Siddique
February 14, 2010 16:04 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Rejecting the terms of reference of the Sri Krishna Committee appointed to go into the issue of separate statehood, 15 MLAs from the Telangana region, including those of the ruling Congress, on Sunday submitted their resignation to Andhra Pradesh assembly Speaker.

The MLAs -- 10 from the Telangana Rashtra Samiti, 2 from Congress, one each from Bharatiya Janata Party, Telugu Desam Party and Praja Rajyam -- met Speaker N Kiran Kumar Reddy in Hyderabad and submitted their resignation.

The legislators said they resigned in order to mount pressure on the Centre to take immediate steps for formation of a separate state.

"We gave our resignation unconditionally. He (Speaker) called us individually. We stressed on accepting our resignation. We hope many others would resign by evening or Monday," senior Congress MLA R Damodar Reddy told media persons.

Though two more Congress MLAs had announced their decision to quit late Saturday night, they, however, did not turn up on Sunday.

Asked if they would attend the budget session of assembly beginning Monday, Reddy replied in the negative.

TRS MLA and party president K Chandrasekhar Rao's son K T Rama Rao said his party would now go to the people and work relentlessly for realising the goal of a separate Telangana.

The all-party Telangana Joint Action Committee on Saturday decided to start the process of legislators submitting their resignation to mount pressure on the Centre for forming a separate state of Telangana immediately.

Additional Inputs: PTI

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Mohammad Siddique in Hyderabad