RLD, Nishad Party expel MLAs for cross-voting in RS polls in UP
March 24, 2018  20:33
The RLD and the NISHAD Party today expelled their MLAs for voting against party directives in the just concluded Rajya Sabha polls.

RLD chief Ajit Singh expelled his lone MLA in the UP Assembly Sahender Singh Chauhan. NISHAD Party president Sanjay Nishad announced the expulsion of MLA Vijay Misra.
MLA Sahendra Singh Chaudhan kept the party leadership in the dark and worked against its directives. Hobnobbing with the BJP, he cast his vote as part of a conspiracy. He has been expelled by party president Chaudhary Ajit Singh, an RLD release issued in Lucknow read.
The party had decided to vote in favour of the BSP in the Rajya Sabha elections to defeat communal forces, the release, signed by RLD National General Secretary Trilok Tyagi, read.
The RLD is committed to opposition unity in national interest against the BJP government which is "spreading communal hatred in society", it added.
RLD MLA's vote was reportedly declared invalid as he had cast it in favour of two candidates.

At a presser in Lucknow, Mayawati said the RLD MLA did not vote in favour of the BSP nominee.

-- PTI
« Back to LIVE