NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Congress wins Manipur assembly by-election

Congress wins Manipur assembly by-election

December 23, 2009 12:13 IST

Congress candidate E Suraj won the by-election to Yaiskul assembly constituency in Manipur, the counting for which was held on Wednesday, by defeating his nearest rival H Jayadev (independent) by over 900 votes.

According to the Election Commission, Suraj secured 9799 votes as against 8856 votes obtained by Jayadev. The by-election, held on December 19, was necessitated due to the untimely death of Congress Member of Legislative Assembly E Kunjeshore, father of Suraj.

With Suraj's victory, the strength of the Congress has gone up to 31 in the 60-member Manipur assembly. The Congress-led Secular Progressive Front government has also become stronger. Congress (31) and Communist Party of India (three) are the constituents of the ruling SPF.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.