» News » Mohite-Patil, 6 other ministers lose in Maha elections

Mohite-Patil, 6 other ministers lose in Maha elections

Source: PTI
October 22, 2009 16:50 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Senior Nationalist Congress Party Minister Vijaysinh Mohite-Patil is among the seven members of the Ashok Chavan government who have lost the assembly elections in Maharashtra.

Patil, who is also state's former deputy chief minister, lost from Pandarpur in Solapur district.

Other ministers who fell by the wayside are Surupsinh Naik (Navapur), Sidhram Mhetre (Akkalkot), Madan Patil (Sangli), Shobha Bachav (Nashik), Rameshchandra Bang (Hingana) and Ravi Patil (Kalyan Rural).

Poonam Mahajan, daughter of slain Bharatiya Janata Party leader Pramod Mahajan (Ghatkopar West) lost the election to Ram Kadam of the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena.

Shalinitai Patil, widow of former chief minister Vasantdada Patil, lost from Koregaon seat in western Maharashtra. The former NCP Member of Legislative Assembly had contested the poll as an independent.

Television show host Adesh Bandekar of the Shiv Sena was defeated by Nitin Sardesai of the MNS in Mahim seat.
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.