» News » Delhi college students vote for BJP, stun Congress

Delhi college students vote for BJP, stun Congress

Source: PTI
Last updated on: September 04, 2010 14:23 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Bharatiya Janata Party student's wing Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad gave a jolt to Congress' National Students Union of India in the Delhi University Students Union elections winning three out of the four top posts, including that of the president.

Jitender Choudhary of (MA, Budhist Studies) won the post of Chairman while Priya Dabas won the post of Vice President.

Neetu Dabas was elected the new Secretary while Akshay Kumar of NSUI was elected Joint Secretary.

Jitender defeated Harish Choudhary, a student of SGBT Khalsa College, who is NSUI's candidate by a margin of 1,943 votes. Jitender polled the maximum number of 9,259 votes in the elections.

AISF's Aparajitha, daughter of CPI leader D Raja, polled 2,999 votes.

Dabas, who polled 8,679 votes, came ahead of NSU's A A Vardhan by 1,518 votes in Vice President polls.

Neetu Dabas won by the highest margin of 4,495 votes in the polls defeating Deepika Derhwal of NSU(I) for the post of DUSU Secretary.

Akshay Kumar was the saving grace for the NSUI who won a tight poll with a margin of 581 votes. Kumar polled 6,831 votes.

A total of 11 candidates contested for the post of DUSU president in the election, while 30 other candidates are vying for the three posts of Vice President, Secretary and Joint Secretary.

With strict norm of election in place in line with the Lyngdoh committee recommendations for polls for students union, the election campaign was without fervour this time.

Add to it the fact that as many as seven candidates were disqualified last year for violating election norms, the parties and candidates in fray were extra cautious this time.

Posters, printed material and stickers were not allowed this time, as also the code of conduct enforced a strict ban on using vehicles or animals for campaigning or loudspeakers.

Last year, an independent candidate had won the post of DUSU President after a gap of 18 years following the disqualification of the NSUI and ABVP candidates.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.