» News » Centre's Telengana stance triggers mass resignations

Centre's Telengana stance triggers mass resignations

By Mohammed Siddique
December 23, 2009 23:33 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Both Members of Parliament of Telangana Rashtra Samiti -- K Chandrasekhra Rao and film star Vijayshanti -- have sent their resignations to Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar in protest against the change in the stand of central government on Telangana issue.

More than 30 legislators of Telangana region belonging to the TRS, Congress, Telugu Desam Party and Praja Rajyam Party have also announced their resignation.  

Meanwhile, incidents of violence were reported at many places, including Hyderabad, in which more than a dozen state transport buses were burnt or damaged by the agitators. Police also resorted to cane charge in Hyderabad and Warangal.

TRS President K Chandrasekhara Rao and Congress leaders K Jana Reddy and R Damodar Reddy urged the students and youth not to get provoked and indulge in any violence.

They urged the students to remain confined to their university campuses and maintain peace. "We have to agitate in a peaceful manner to win our goal," he said.

KCR told a press conference late in the night that both he and Jana Reddy spoke to Chief Minister Rosaiah and the Director General of Police Girish Kumar, urging them to restrain the police from using force against the students.

Announcing the formation of the political Joint Action Committee of Telangana, Chandrasekhara Rao said that the JAC meeting will be held in Hyderabad on Thursday noon to finalise the future course of action.

KCR expressed concern over the reports that power supply was shut down in entire north Telangana region and urged the government to immediately restore the supply, as it was leading to rumours and fears among the people.

After announcing her decision to resign from Lok Sabha, Vijayshanti said she would continue her fight till the goal of Telangana was achieved. While Vijayshanti was elected to Lok Sabha from Medak, Chandrasekhara Rao was elected from Mahbubnagar.

Former minister Konda Surekha was among more than ten Congress legislators, who have resigned from the assembly. "I will stage a sit in protest before the Speaker's chamber till he accepts my resignation," she said.

There are 119 MLAs and 17 MPs in Telangana region and KCR exuded confidence that all of them along with other elected representatives will submit their resignations on Thursday

The public representatives from Telangana region have started sending their resignations just when 140 legislators from Andhra and Rayala Seema had agreed to withdraw their resignations, welcoming the statement of P Chidambaram.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Mohammed Siddique in Hyderabad