» News » DMK-Cong combine sweeps TN assembly by-polls

DMK-Cong combine sweeps TN assembly by-polls

Source: PTI
Last updated on: August 21, 2009 15:06 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Capitalising on the boycott by main opposition All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam-led Democratic Progressive Alliance on Friday expectedly swept the by-polls to five Tamil Nadu assembly seats, trouncing actor-politician Vijaykant's Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam by impressive margins.

DMK candidates won in Cumbum, Burgur and Ilayankudi while the party's principal ally Congress emerged victorious in Srivaikuntam and Thondamuthur.

The combine wrested Cumbum and Thondamuthur from Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, which along with Pattali Makkal Katchi toed their alliance lead partner AIADMK's boycott line.

Burgur was held by AIADMK. DMK and Congress retained Illayankudi and Srivaikuntam respectively.

AIADMK, MDMK and PMK had boycotted the polls claiming they would not be "free and fair" with the DMK and Congress ruling at the state and Centre, besides citing "vulnerability of EVMs to tampering," making it virtually a no contest race.

The fledgling DMDK failed to live up to the image it sought to project as an alternative to the principal Dravidian parties -- DMK and AIADMK and had to be content with the runner-up position.

Defying their front leader AIADMK's boycott decision, Communist Party of India-Marxist and Communist Party of India contested four seats but ended up forfeiting even deposits in all. The Bharatiya Janata Party too lost deposits in all five segments.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.