Nobel chemistry for work on lithium-ion batteries
October 09, 2019  15:23
The 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to John B Goodenough, M Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino for the development of lithium-ion batteries.

Lithium-ion batteries have revolutionised our lives and are used in everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric vehicles. Through their work, this years Chemistry Laureates have laid the foundation of a wireless, fossil fuel-free society. 

Talking about the winners, the committee said that John B Goodenough at 97 years of age is the oldest Nobel prize winner. Last year Arthur Ashkin (at 96) was the oldest. 
« Back to LIVE