25 injured in acid attack at Congress victory rally in K'taka
September 03, 2018  15:45
At least 25 people were injured as acid was thrown on them during the victory procession of victorious Congress candidate Inayatullah Khan in Tumakuru today. This incident comes after reports that Congress and Janata Dal-Secular may enter into an alliance in the Tumakuru and Mysuru municipal corporations.

The police have launched an investigation into the case. A search operation is underway to nab the attackers.

The BJP won 13 seats to the Tumakuru Municipal Corporation followed by the JD(S) at seven seats. The Congress won just three wards while Independent candidates won two wards each.

Out of the total of 2,664 wards, the Congress has won 982 seats, BJP 927, JD(S) 375, BSP 13 and others have won 363 seats.

In all, 8,340 candidates, including 2,306 from the Congress, 2,203 from the BJP and 1,397 from the JD(S) are in the fray for the ULBs, while 814 contested from the city corporations, including 135 from Congress, 130 from BJP and 129 from JD(S).
« Back to LIVE