UP: Nominations of 13 candidates for Gorakhpur, Phoolpur LS bypolls rejected
February 22, 2018  09:06
As many as 13 nomination papers were on Wednesday rejected for the March 11 Lok Sabha bypolls to the Gorakhpur and Phoolpur seats in Uttar Pradesh.
Seven nomination papers from the Gorakhpur seat and six from Phoolpur were rejected leaving 10 and 24 candidates, respectively, in the fray after scrutiny of names was undertaken today, the state election office said.
February 23 is the last date for withdrawal of names, they said, adding that counting of votes will be held on March 14.
Byelections in Gorakhpur and Phulpur were necessitated after Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated their respective seats after becoming members of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council. -- PTI  
« Back to LIVE