US House votes to impose new sanctions on Russia, Iran and North Korea
July 26, 2017  12:38
The United States House of Representatives has overwhelmingly voted to impose new sanctions against Russia, Iran and North Korea for their dangerous and belligerent actions that undermine America and its allies.
The Russia, Iran and North Korea sanctions bill was passed with a 419-3 votes in the lower house of the US Congress yesterday.
The bill is aimed at punishing Moscow for meddling in the US presidential election and its military aggression in Ukraine and Syria. It also seeks to make Tehran pay a price for its "continued support of terrorism."
The bill, that notably constrains President Donald Trump's ability to waive the penalties, is now headed to the Senate, where there is support for sanctions but debate about whether to include penalties on North Korea.
House Speaker Paul Ryan said that the is one of the most expansive sanctions packages in the history.
"It tightens the screws on our most dangerous adversaries in order to keep Americans safe," he said.
House Democratic Whip Steny H Hoyer said the bill seeks to make it harder for Russia to use that type of coercion and empower other nations to join us in standing up against Russian aggression.
"These three (Russian, Iranian and North Korean) regimes, in different parts of the world, are threatening vital US interests and destabilising their neighbours. It is well past time that we forcefully respond," Ed Royce, chairman of the House foreign affairs committee, an author of the bill, said after the passage of the legislation.
Senate Minority Leader Charles Schumer said the House vote on this tough sanctions bill sends a message to Russian President Vladimir Putin that meddling in US elections will not be tolerated.
« Back to LIVE