Pakistan to pick its 18th prime minister today
August 01, 2017  08:25
The National Assembly of Pakistan will pick the country's 18th prime minister on Tuesday, following the July 28 landmark judgment in the Panamagate case, in which a five-judge bench unanimously disqualified Nawaz Sharif from holding any public office.

Major political parties have already fielded their respective candidates for the day.

The ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz has fielded Shahid Khaqan Abbasi as its candidate, whereas the Pakistan People's Party has nominated Khursheed Shah and Naveed Qamar.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has fielded Sheikh Rashid as it nominee.

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan and the Jamaat-e-Islami have named Kishwar Zehra and Sahibzada Tariqullah respectively for the coveted post.

As the rules go, the speaker will announce the process for members to elect a new Leader of the House.

"The speaker will announce the name of every member one-by-one and in alphabetical order to receive his/her ballot paper. The members would mark the candidate of their choice with a tick on the ballot paper and put it in the ballot box," Geo News reports.

According to the Constitution, the process of the election will continue until a candidate achieves a clear majority, that is of 172 votes.
« Back to LIVE