News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » News » Yeddyurappa brings back Shobha in cabinet reshuffle

Yeddyurappa brings back Shobha in cabinet reshuffle

By Vicky Nanjappa
Last updated on: September 22, 2010 10:19 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa on Wednesday inducted 6 members in his Cabinet, including the controversial Shobha Karandlaje who was asked to resign during his battle with the Reddy brothers October last.

Shobha along with five others were administered the oath of office by Governor H R Bharadwaj at the Raj Bhavan on Wednesday morning.

The five other new names inducted into the cabinet are V Somanna, C H Vijayshankar, A Narayanswamy, S Ramdas and C C Patil. 

While the new names have not been the centre of controversy, controversy erupted when the chief minister dropped three persons from his cabinet. Those dropped are Gulihatti Shekhar, Aravind Limbavalli and K Shivanagouda Naik.

Although the Reddy faction had stood up for those who were dropped from the cabinet, matters appear to be under control for now with the high command sending a strong signal to all the leaders to fall in line and not create any further trouble.

The Reddy brothers had said that they would speak to the high command directly, as they felt that it was not right to drop the MLAs who had helped form the government when the BJP had fallen short of a majority two years back.

Back in the Yeddyurappa cabinet

Shobha Karandlage: When the Reddy brothers revolted earlier this year, one of the demands was the sacking of Shobha.

They had alleged that her proximity to the chief minister had created problems for other MLAs and that she was behaving like a proxy CM of the state.

Yeddyurappa was forced to drop her then but had assured her that he would take her back in the next reshuffle.

Yeddyurappa justified her return, saying that they needed a Vokkaliga minister in the cabinet. Moreover, he said that Shobha was the only woman minister and that representation needed to be given.

C H Vijayashankar: Hailing from the backward Kuruba community, Vijayashankar is considered to be a replacement for K S Eshwarappa who hails from the same community.

Eshwarappa stepped down after being made the party president. It is said that his proximity to Shobha earned him the ministerial berth.

A Narayanaswamy: A four time MLA, he had always indicated that his dream was to become a minister. He is said to be close to Eshwarappa and BJP general secretary Ananth Kumar.

V Somanna: Originally from the Congress party, Somanna came into the BJP at the behest of Yeddyurappa when the party undertook 'Operation Lotus' in the state.

He had lost the by-poll last year, but was then inducted as a member of the legislative council.

S A Ramdas: He was part of the rebellion against Yeddyurappa last year and had vowed never to join the ministry until Shobha was dropped from the Cabinet.

However, this inclusion indicates a truce between him and the chief minister.

C C Patil: A close aide of Yeddyurappa, the legislator from Naragund in North Karnataka belongs to the powerful Lingayat community.

Out of the Yeddyurappa cabinet

Gulihatti D Shekar: Shekar had threatened to kill himself if he was dropped from the ministry.

Sources say that this independent MLA was dropped, as he was allegedly passing on information to Janata Dal-Secular chief and former Chief Minister Kumaraswamy.

Arvind Limbavali: His falling out with Ananth Kumar is said to be the reason for his exit. He also did not have Yeddyurappa's support.

K Shivannagouda Naik: Naik was dropped, as the chief minister thought that he had neglected his ministry. He was initially with the Janata Dal-Secular. But was later roped in by the Reddy brothers.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Vicky Nanjappa in Bengaluru