NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » List of NAC nominees announced

List of NAC nominees announced

June 02, 2010 04:21 IST

At least two Members of Parliament have been nominated to the National Advisory Council (NAC), which is a civil society monitoring body for government programmes.

TheĀ  official list of nominees was announced on Tuesday by the Prime Minister's Office. The MPs are Prof MS Swaminathan, eminent agriculture scientist and Dr Ram Dayal Munda, an expert on tribal history, culture and ethnography.

The other members of the NAC are: Narendra Jadhav, Member, Planning Commission

Pramod Tandon, VC, North-Eastern Hill University, Shillong;

Dr Jean Dreze, GB Pant Social Science Institute, Allahabad;

Aruna Roy, Mazdoor Kisan Shakti Sangatan, Rajsamand, Rajasthan;

Madhav Gadgil, Agharkar Research Institute, Pune;

N C Saxena, former bureaucrat and social activist;

A K Shiv Kumar, Advisor, Unicef, New Delhi ;

Deep Joshi, Magasaysay award winner;

Anu Aga, Thermax;

Farah Naqvi, Muslim civil rights expert;

Harsh Mander, former bureaucrat and social activist and

Mirai Chatterjee, Coordinator, SEWA, Ahmedabad.

BS Reporter