» News » All Telangana MLAs must resign by Monday, warns JAC

All Telangana MLAs must resign by Monday, warns JAC

By Mohammed Siddique
February 14, 2010 19:42 IST

All Party Telangana Joint Action Committee has set the deadline of Monday evening for all the Members of Andhra Pradesh assembly of Telangana region to submit their resignations and quit the assembly in protest against the Srikrishna committee.

A resolution to this effect was passed at a meeting of TJAC on Sunday evening, soon after 15 MLAs from the region tendered their resignations to the assembly.

Addressing the media after the meeting, TJAC convenor Prof Kodandaram said that those MLAs who will not resign will have to face the ire of the people of the region, and they will not be allowed to enter their constituencies and go around the villages.

"All the democratic methods will be used to pressurise the remaining of the 119 Telangana legislators to resign," he said.

TJAC has also passed another resolution asking the people of Telangana to boycott the products, goods and services of the industrialist and businessmen of coastal Andhra and Rayalseema regions.

Though TJAC had passed a unanimous resolution on Saturday asking all the MLAs to resign, only fifteen -- ten of them from the Telangana Rashtra Samithi and remaining from Congress, Telugu Desam Party, Bharatiya Janata Party and the Praja Rajyam Party have resigned.

Another BJP legislator G Kishan Reddy announced that he will resign tomorrow. Among the 119 Telangana legislators, Congress has 51 and Telugu Desam has 39.

Telugu Desam legislators have handed over their resignations to their senior leader N Janardhan Reddy, but it was not clear when they will be handed over to the Speaker.

Congress legislators who have not resigned have decided to boycott the governor's address on the first day of the budget session of state assembly tomorrow. 

'Decision on MLAs' resignation as per Constitution'

Meanwhile, Andhra Pradesh Assembly Speaker N Kiran Kumar Reddy today said he would take a decision on the resignation of several MLAs in accordance with the Constitutional provisions and rules of the legislature.

"There are three important things to be examined before a resignation is accepted. Primarily the resignation should be in a prescribed format under Rule 186 (1). I have to verify the genuineness of the resignation and ascertain whether or not the resignation has been submitted voluntarily. Its totally the Speaker's discretion whether or not to accept the resignation," he said.

With inputs from PTI

Mohammed Siddique in Hyderabad