» News » Separatist strike in Kashmir, curfew imposed

Separatist strike in Kashmir, curfew imposed

Source: PTI
August 25, 2010 13:26 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Curfew was clamped in parts of Srinagar on Wednesday and restrictions imposed in Bijbehara, Anantnag and Budgam towns in view of protests and a strike called by the separatists across the Kashmir Valley.

In the city, curfew was clamped in 11 police station areas.

"Areas under the jurisdiction of police stations of district Srinagar -- Batamloo, Bemina, Qamarwari, Kralkhud, Nowhatta, Khanyar, M.R. Gunj, Safakadal, Maisuma, Shaheedgunj and Abi-guzar area of police station, Kothibagh will remain under curfew from 6 am till further orders," District Magistrate, Srinagar, Mehraj Ahmad Kakroo said.

However, the law enforcing agencies have been advised to allow the movement of government employees after showing their identity cards.

The District Magistrate said police and paramilitary personnel will also regulate movement of patients and their attendants on production of identity cards.

Police said restrictions on the movement of people have been imposed in Bijbehara, Anantnag and Budgam towns as a precautionary measure.

The hardline faction of Hurriyat Conference led by Syed Ali Shah Geelani, spearheading the ongoing agitation, has called for a complete shutdown and sit-in protests across the Valley.

Shops and business markets, educational institutions, banks and private offices remained closed and all modes of transports was off the roads in response to the separatists' call for strike.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.