NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » CM, PCC chief in Congress' first list for Haryana polls

CM, PCC chief in Congress' first list for Haryana polls

September 23, 2009 16:33 IST

Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda and several of his ministers and Pradesh Congress Committee chief Phool Chand Mullana figure in the list of 68 Congress candidates for the October 13 assembly polls, which was released by the party on Wednesday.

While Hooda will contest from Garhi Sampla-Kiloi seat, Mullana has been re-nominated from Mulana.

Randeep Singh Surjewala, a minister, has been shifted to Kaithal from Narwana that has become a reserved seat. He replaces his father and senior leader S S Surjewala, whose name does not figure in the list.

Haryana has a total of 90 assembly seats and the Congress has not allied with any other party to fight the polls.

Kailasho Saini, who was Indian National Lok Dal women's wing president and had joined the Congress a few months ago, has been nominated from the Ladwa seat.

Several ministers have been re-nominated including H S Chatha (Pehowa), Mange Ram Gupta (Jind), Birender Singh (Uchana Kalan), Kiran Chaudhary (Tosham), Savitri Jindal (Hisar).

Assembly Speaker Raghuvir Singh Kadian has been fielded from Beri while PCC Working President Kuldeep Sharma will contest from Ganaur and senior leader Venod Sharma will contest from Ambala City.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.