News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » News » Maharashtra polls: Sena announces first list

Maharashtra polls: Sena announces first list

Source: PTI
September 21, 2009 12:41 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Shiv Sena on Monday announced its first list of 126 candidates retaining 37 sitting legislators and putting up 60 new faces.

In the seat sharing arrangement with 22-year-old ally Bharatiya Janata Party, Sena will contest 169 and BJP 119 seats.

Leader of Opposition in the outgoing legislative assembly Ramdas Kadam has been fielded from Guhagar assembly in Raigad Parliamentary constituency.

Senior leader Subhash Desai has been retained from Goregaon in Mumbai, Dagdu Sakpal in Sewree, former Minister in Congress-NCP and Shiv Sena-BJP governments Suresh Jain has been fielded from Jalgaon city.

The new faces include Abhijit Adsul from Daryapur. Abhijit is the son of party MP from Amravati Anandrao Adsul.

Shiv Sena zonal chief of Mumbai North Vinod Ghosalkar is the new face from Dahisar and former Standing Committee Chairman in Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) Ravindra Waikar has been given a chance to contest from Jogeshwari (East).

Ashish Chemburkar, a sitting corporator is the candidate from Worli, Sindhudurg district chief Vaibhav Naik has been fielded from Kudal.

Well known television host Aadesh Bandekar's name does not find a mention in the first list.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.