NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Polling begins for Bihar by-election

Polling begins for Bihar by-election

September 15, 2009 10:06 IST
Voting has begun for the by-election to 11 of the 18 assembly constituencies in Bihar on Tuesday morning. The polling will decide the fate of 99 contestants, including nine women.

The Janata Dal-United is contesting from Bagha, Nautan, Dhoraiya, Triveniganj, Fulwari, Ghosi, Simri Bakhtiarpur and Munger constituencies while the Bharatiya Janata Party is from Bodh Gaya, Begusarai and Araria. 

The Rshtriya Janata Dal and the Lok Janshakti Party has fielded its candidates from Bagha, Nautan, Dhoraiya, Fulwari, Munger, Simri Bakhtiarpur, Ghosi; and Bodh Gaya, Begusarai, Araria and Triveniganj respectively.

The Congress is contesting from all the constituencies. Around 25,15,474 electors are expected to cast their vote at 2,620 polling stations spread over Bagha, Nautan, Begusarai, Triveniganj, Simri Bakhtiarpur, Araria, Dhoraiya, Munger, Fulwari, Ghosi and Bodh Gaya.

Central paramilitary force personnel have been pressed into service to avoid any kind of untoward incident.

Source: ANI