NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Sena-BJP to retain 2004 seat-sharing formula

Sena-BJP to retain 2004 seat-sharing formula

September 08, 2009 13:31 IST

Maharashtra state Opposition the Shiv Sena and Bharatiya Janata Party have announced that they will retain the seat-sharing formula of the 2004 assembly elections for the October 13 polls -- the Sena contesting 169 seats and BJP 119 seats.

"The Sena-BJP alliance has nearly finalised its seat-sharing and the parties would contest the same number of seats they did the last time," said state BJP president Nitin Gadkari.

Elections to the 288-member Maharashtra assembly will be held on October 13.

"The announcement about seat-sharing will be made in a couple of days," Gadkari said.

Asked if there were differences in the saffron alliance over the controversial Guhagar assembly seat in coastal Konkan, Gadkari said, "We will not make Guhagar a prestige issue."

The seat had become a bone of contention between the two parties following delimitation. Sena wants the seat to be given to Leader of Opposition Ramdas Kadam whose traditional constituency, Khed, has been erased with the delimitation of constituencies.
© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.