NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Pranab to re-contest for LS from Jangipur

Pranab to re-contest for LS from Jangipur

March 15, 2009 21:39 IST

External Affairs Minister Pranab Mukherjee was re-nominated on Sunday by the Congress from the Jangipur seat in West Bengal for the coming Lok Sabha polls, while bringing in Deepa Dasmunsi from Raiganj in place of her husband and union minister P R Dasmunsi following his indisposition.

Among the 11 candidates finalised in Delhi, the party's Central Election Committee also nominated former Kolkata Mayor Subrata Mukherjee from Bankura constituency, sources said. Sitting MPs, who got re-nominated included Adhir Ranjan Chowdhary from Baharampur and A H Khan Chaudhary from Maldaha Dakshin.

From the SC reserved constituencies, the party nominated Sukhbilas Barma from Jalpaiguri, Sambhu Nath Malik from Arambag and Asit Mal from Bolpur. Amrit Hansda was nominated from the Jhargram ST-reserved seat. Other candidates announced included Santi Ram Mahoto from Purulia and Nuris Begum from Bardhaman-Durgapur.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.