» News » LS polls: BSP announces 12 candidates for TN

LS polls: BSP announces 12 candidates for TN

Source: PTI
March 10, 2009 16:42 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The Bahujan Samaj Party, which has decided to contest the Lok Sabha elections on its own, on Tuesday announced candidates for 12 out of 39 constituencies in Tamil Nadu. In the first phase, BSP president Mayawati cleared 12 names and the process was on to select candidates for the remaining constituencies.

The party was in the process of identifying suitable candidates from each community to be fielded in all the Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamil Nadu, said a BSP leader.

Dr R Sridharan-Chennai South, P Sivakami-Kanyakumari, Dr A V Purushothaman-Dharmapuri, L V Saptharishi-Mayiladuthurai, A Yunus Khan-Chennai Central, Sankar-Arani, B Rajappa-Sriperumbudur, N Kalyanasundaram-Tiruchirappalli, R Balasunramani-Salem, Darbar Raja- Madurai, Jeevankumar-Tuticorin and K Ramasubramanian-Coimbatore, are the candidates in the first list.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati is likely to visit key cities of the state in April to address election meetings and introduce the candidates.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.