» News » Left bloc to contest 33 LS seats in Bihar

Left bloc to contest 33 LS seats in Bihar

Source: PTI
March 01, 2009 20:22 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Bihar is all set to witness triangular contest in coming Lok Sabha polls as the newly-formed Left bloc decided  on Sunday to contest 33 out of 40 Lok Sabha seats.
The Communist Party of India, Communist Party of India-Marxist, CPI-Marxist Leninst-Liberation, for the first time, have entered into a poll-alliance.
In a joint address to mediapersons by CPI, CPI-M and CPI-ML-Liberation in Patna, CPI state secretary Badri Narayan Lal said, "The CPI-ML (Liberation) will contest 20 seats, CPI will field candidates in eight seats and CPM will fight on five seats."
According to the leaders of the Left parties, they reached seat adjustments for LS polls and there would be no friendly
fight in anywhere in the state.
Left bloc would not field candidates in seven LS seats--Kishanganj, Sitamarhi, Vaishali, Hajipur, Chapra, Munger
and Aurangabad.
They would back candidates other than RJD, or any constituent party of United Progressive Alliance or National Democratic Alliance in these seats. The decision to support individual candidates or any other party would be
taken later.
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.