NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Ramesh Pokhariyal sworn in Uttarakhand CM

Ramesh Pokhariyal sworn in Uttarakhand CM

June 27, 2009 16:23 IST

Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank was on Saturday sworn-in as the fifth chief minister of Uttarakhand.

He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor B L Joshi at a function organised at Rajbhavan in Dehradun.

BJP President Rajnath Singh, senior party leader M M Joshi, Yoga guru Baba Ramdev and Chidanand Muni of Parmarth Niketan ashram were also present during the swearing-in ceremony.

Three MLAs -- Matbar Singh Kandari, Bishan Singh Chufal and Madan Kaushik -- also took oath as cabinet ministers. All the three were also cabinet ministers in the previous B C Khanduri government.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.