» News » 13 Telangana ministers withdraw resignations

13 Telangana ministers withdraw resignations

By Mohammed Siddhique
December 31, 2009 14:03 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Welcoming the fresh initiative of the Centre to find a solution to the decades-old problem, 13 Congress ministers from Telangana have withdrawn their resignations.
The ministers, who tendered resignations to the party president Sonia Gandhi a week ago demanding a time-bound plan for Telangana, said they withdrew resignations on a request by AICC general secretary Veerappa Moily and state Congress president D Srinivas.
"We hope that the decision to invite eight political parties for talks on January 5 is in favour of Telangana," said J Geeta Reddy, a senior-most minister.
Geeta Reddy thanked the Centre for "responding quickly" to their demand.
Later, the Telangana ministers met Chief Minister K Rosaiah.
Though the decision to withdraw the resignations mark the end of a crisis for the ruling Congress, other problems seem to be raising their head over the all-party meeting with Home Minister P Chidambaram.
While Chidambaram said two representatives from every party will be able to participate in the meeting, Congress leaders from Andhra and Rayala Seema regions want a larger representation.
N Raghuveera Reddy, agriculture minister from Rayala Seema, has written to D Srinivas, demanding that the views of all Congress MPs, MLAs and even workers should be taken in to consideration at the meeting.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Mohammed Siddhique in Hyderabad