» News » 75 percent sitting MLAs lost Jharkhand polls

75 percent sitting MLAs lost Jharkhand polls

Source: PTI
December 25, 2009 12:33 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

About 75 percent of sitting Jharkhand legislators lost the assembly elections, while just 25 percent retained their seats.

Leading the pack of the sitting legislators who lost was assembly speaker Alamgir Alam of the Congress who lost his Pakur seat.

Two former deputy chief ministers Stephen Marandi of the Congress and Sudhir Mahato of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha lost their Dumka and Ichagarh seats respectively.

Jharkhand Pradesh Congress Committee president Pradeep Kumar Balmuchu lost his traditional Ghatsila seat by 1,182 votes.

Former ministers Joba Majhi, Dinesh Kumar Sarangi, Kamlesh Singh, Bhanu Pratap Sahi, Ranji Lal Sharda and former union minister Rameshwar Oraon and heavyweights like Bharatiya Janata Party's Saryu Rai also lost.

Prominent legislators re-elected were Jharkhand BJP unit president Raghubar Das from Jamshedpur East, All Jharkhand Students Union president and former state home minister Sudesh Mahto from Silli, former ministers Enos Ekka from Kolebira and Harinarayan Rai from Jarmundi.

Other members of legislative assembly re-elected were Nalin Soren (JMM) from Sikaripara, Bishnu Prasad Bhaiya (BJP) from Jamtara, Pradeep Yadav (BJP) from Poreyahat, Annapurna Devi (Rashtriya Janata Dal) from Koderma, Chadra Prakash Choudhary (AJSU) from Ramgarh and Saurav Narayan Singh (Congress) from Hazaribagh.

Vinod Kumar Singh, general secretary of the Communist Part of India (Marxist Leninist-Liberation) was re-elected from Bagodar, Jagarnath Mahto (JMM) from Dumri, Kunti Devi (BJP) from Jharia, Mathura Prasad Mahato (JMM) from Tundi, Champai Soren (JMM) from Seraikella and Nilkanth Singh Munda (BJP) from Khunti.

Chandresh PD Singh (BJP) from Ranchi, Gopal SN Shahdeo (Congress) from Hatia, Ram Chander Baitha (BJP) from Kanke and Bidesh Singh (Independent) from Panki were re-elected.
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.