» News » 123 MLAs quit, Congressmen lead the pack with 76

123 MLAs quit, Congressmen lead the pack with 76

Source: PTI
Last updated on: December 11, 2009 12:57 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The political crisis in Andhra Pradesh over the Telangana issue intensified on Friday with the number of MLAs resigning climbing to 123 as protests broke out in non-Telangana regions over the Centre's decision to split the state.

Twenty-three more MLAs submitted their resignation to Speaker Kirankumar Reddy. In all 76 MLAs from the Congress have resigned, 38 from TDP and 14 from PRP in the 294-member Assembly.

Amid a debate over whether or not to continue Assembly proceedings in the wake of the en masse resignations of legislators, the Speaker adjourned the House till Monday.

The Speaker made it clear that he has to speak to all those who quit before taking a decision after ascertaining if they resigned due to their own volition or due to any compulsion.

In view of the crisis, the state government is holding consultations with the Attorney General.

Chief Minister K Rosaiah has called a meeting of floor leaders of all parties to take stock of the situation.

Incidents of violence and stoning of buses were reported in towns of coastal Andhra and Rayasaleema against the Centre's decision to carve out Telangana state.

At the start of the proceedings, the Speaker announced that 103 MLAs of Congress, TDP and PRP have resigned and that he will go by the rule book while taking a decision on them.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.