» News » Jharkhand: Polling begins for third phase

Jharkhand: Polling begins for third phase

Source: PTI
December 08, 2009 09:48 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Voting began on Tuesday morning for the third phase of elections for 11 seats in Jharkhand amidt tight security.

A total of 25,41,042 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in Hazaribagh, Dhanwar, Bagodar, Jamua, Bermo, Bokaro, Chandankiari, Shikaripara, Dumka, Jama and Jarmundi constituencies. The first five seats have Naxal pockets.

In all 237 candidates, including 115 Independents, are in the fray with Bokaro having the maximum of 45 aspirants and Dhanwar registering the minimum with ten candidates. Jharkhand elections are being held in five phases.

Elections for 40 of the total 81 seats were completed in the first two phases on November 25 and December 2.

The fourth phase is scheduled on December 12 and the fifth and final round of the elections will be held on December 18. Results will be announced on December 23.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.