NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Two Army officers to receive Ashok Chakra

Two Army officers to receive Ashok Chakra

August 14, 2009 17:46 IST

Major Mohit Sharma and Major D Sreeram Kumar have been awarded the country's highest peace time gallantry award Ashok Chakra.

Major Sharma will be decorated with the Ashok Chakra posthumously.

According to a communique issued by the Ministry of Defence, President Pratibha Patil has also announced four Kirti Chakra awards on the eve of 63rd Independence Day celebrations.

Major Sharma, 31, belonged to the Para Regiment. He was deputed in Rashtriya Rifles in Kashmir. He lost his life along with four others while fighting terrorists in the Hafrada forest of Kupwara district in March this year.

Major Sharma was also honoured with Sena Medal (Gallantry) in 2005 and the Army Chief's Commendation Card for his exemplary services in combating terrorism during Operation Rakshak in 2000.

Major Sreeram Kumar, 28, of the Artillery Regiment, is presently serving in Assam Rifles. He was awarded in recognition of his service in the Operation Hifazat in Manipur.

Major Kumar had eliminated 12 and apprehended 23 terrorists and recovered 12 weapons during Operation Hifazat. With his consummate leadership and ingenuity, Major Kumar has created an effective and vibrant intelligence network, delivering hard blows to the activities of the terrorists and making it extremely difficult for them to operate in the battalion area of responsibility. 

The Kirti Chakra has been awarded to Major Amit Oscar Fernandes of Maratha Light Infantry, Major Deepak Tewari of Electronic and Mechanical Engineers and Naik Rishikesh Gurjar of Rajput Regiment for exceptional gallantry shown during anti insurgency operations. The Kirti Chakra will decorate paratrooper Shabir Ahmad Malik of Para Regiment posthumously. 

Source: ANI