« Back to articlePrint this article

Deshmukh, NCP's Adik, Mohite-Patil elected to Rajya Sabha

August 03, 2009 17:39 IST

Union minister and Congress leader Vilasrao Deshmukh and two Nationalist Congress Party candidates were elected on Monday to the Rajya Sabha from Maharashtra. NCP leaders Govindrao Adik and Ranjitsinh Mohite Patil were elected to the Upper House of parliament against the seats vacated by Civil Aviation Minister Praful Patel and Supriya Sule after their election to Lok Sabha.

Shiv Sena candidate Rahul Narvekar withdrew his nomination at Vidhan Bhawan on Monday. Union Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises minister Deshmukh, had filed his papers for the Rajya Sabha seat vacated by Union Power Minister Sushilkumar Shinde. Former Maharashtra chief minister, Shinde had resigned from the seat after his election to the Lok Sabha from Solapur parliamentary constituency.

© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.