NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » India elect to bat in 2nd ODI

India elect to bat in 2nd ODI

January 31, 2009 14:55 IST

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and opted to bat first against Sri Lanka in the second one-day international in Colombo on Saturday.

The visitors, who won the first game by six wickets in Dambulla, made two changes to their team, opener Virender Sehwag returning from injury in place of Rohit Sharma and seam bowler Praveen Kumar replacing the injured Munaf Patel.

Sri Lanka named an unchanged team.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Virender Sehwag, Yusuf Pathan, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar, Pragyan Ojha.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Kumar Sangakkara, Sanath Jayasuriya, Chamara Kapugedera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Thilina Kandamby, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Farveez Maharoof, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilina Thushara

© Copyright 2018 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.