NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » India elect to bowl in first ODI

India elect to bowl in first ODI

January 28, 2009 10:04 IST

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and opted to bowl first in the opening One-Day International of the five-match series against Sri Lanka in Dambulla on Wednesday.

India are missing regular opener Virender Sehwag, who was ruled out due to an injury picked up while training. Mumbai youngster Rohit Sharma has been inducted into the playing eleven to replace Sehwag.

Sri Lanka have not made any change to the side that beat Pakistan in a three-match ODI series last week.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain & wk), Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, Munaf Patel.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Chamara Kapugedera, Thilina Kandamby, Farveez Maharoof, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.