NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Jaffer CEAT Cricketer of the Year

Jaffer CEAT Cricketer of the Year

Last updated on: January 28, 2009 16:12 IST

Mumbai skipper Wasim Jaffer was adjudged Cricketer of the Year, while the late Ashok Mankad was posthumously conferred the Lifetime Achievement award at the 'CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) Domestic awards 2009' in MumbaiĀ on Tuesday.

Jaffer received a cash prize of Rs 200,000, while Cheteshwar Pujara from Saurashtra, who was named batsman of the year, and Mumbai's Dhawal Kulkarni, named bowler of the year, were handed Rs 100,000 each.

Saurav Netravalkar from Mumbai was adjudged Under-19 Cricketer of the Year. He walked away with Rs 100,000.

The players were judged by performances in domestic cricket and rated by the CEAT Cricket ratings (CCR) for the year 2008-2009.

"The CCR Domestic Award function is a reiteration of our endeavor to recognize the individual brilliances in the domestic cricket scene," vice-chairman CEAT Ltd Harsh Goenka said.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.