NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Johnson in Australia squad for third SA ODI

Johnson in Australia squad for third SA ODI

January 22, 2009 17:17 IST

Pacer Mitchell Johnson returns to the Australian team after a fortnight's rest for the third one-dayer against South Africa at the SCG on Friday.

Johnson, who was rested after the 1-2 Test series loss against the Proteas, replaces Ben Hilfenhaus in the 12-man squad for the third match of the five-game series, which is locked 1-1.

Captain Ricky Ponting was happy with the return of Johnson, who played the role of pace spearhead during the Test series owing to the dip in form of fellow-fast bowler Brett Lee, who is recovering after a surgery.

The final eleven will be named before play commences.

"Mitchell will obviously come back in; a couple of weeks off he was obviously jumping out of his skin to get back in the nets to bat and bowl again," Ponting was quoted as saying by the Australian Associated Press.

"That is a good sign for us. Hauritz is in the 12 and Hilfenhaus is the one who misses out. We have not announced an 11 yet. We will see what this weather does tomorrow before we actually play."

The squad: Ricky Ponting (capt), Shaun Marsh, David Warner, Mike Hussey, David Hussey, Cameron White, Brad Haddin, James Hopes, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Hauritz, Nathan Bracken, Shaun Tait.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.