NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Bangladesh square series with six-wicket win over Zimbabwe

Bangladesh square series with six-wicket win over Zimbabwe

Last updated on: January 21, 2009 17:53 IST

Roqibul Hassan smashed his fifth one-day half-century as Bangladesh raced to a six-wicket victory over Zimbabwe in their second one-day international on Wednesday, squaring the three-match series at 1-1.

After restricting Zimbabwe to 160-9, the hosts reached 164-4 in 44.5 overs with Mushfiqur Rahim, unbeaten on 13, striking Tawanda Mupariwa for a four and six in successive balls.

Roqibul was unbeaten at 52 off 100 balls. The half-century came after Mehrab Hossain Junior struck 43.

Mehrab, who shared 32 runs with Tamim Iqbal, provided Bangladesh with an answer to their perennial opening problem after he replaced Zunaed Siddique in the squad.

Mupariwa earned the breakthrough when an in-cutter whipped off the bails of Tamim for 21 before Edward Rainsford dismissed embattled Bangladesh skipper Mohammad Asharaful, caught by Prosper Utseya at short-cover for five.

However, Mehrab and Roqibul steadied the innings with a 52-run stand for the third wicket.

Earlier, Sean Williams and Prosper Utseya shared a 96-run stand in the seventh wicket to help Zimbabwe recover from a poor start after Bangladesh, who won the toss and opted to bowl, had reduced the visitors to 47 for six.

Nazmul Hossain claimed three wickets for 28 runs, while Rubel Hossain snapped up 2-29 before Williams and Utseya began the rescue act. Left-hander Williams scored his eighth one-day half-century with 59 off 89 balls leading the way.

Mashrafee Mortaza, who gave away only seven runs in his first six overs, ran Williams out to end the seventh wicket stand and then trapped Usteya for lbw for 38 off 101 balls to finish with 2-22.

The third and deciding match will be held on Friday.


 V Sibanda lbw b Nazmul 7
 H Masakadza c Rubel b Nazmul 17
 S Matsikenyeri run out 10
 T Taibu c Mehrab b Rubel 3
 S Williams run out 59
 E Chigumbura b Nazmul 1
 M Waller b Rubel 1
 P Utseya lbw b Mortaza 38
 R Price b Mortaza 7
 T Mupariwa not out 1
 Extras: (lb-6, w-8, nb-2) 16
 Total: (nine wickets; 50 overs) 160

 Fall of wickets: 1-26, 2-29, 3-37, 4-45, 5-46, 6-47, 7-143, 8-159, 9-160.

 Did not bat: E Rainsford.

 Bowling: Mortaza 10-1-22-2 (1-nb), Nazmul 10-1-28-3, Rubel 8-2-29-2 (1-w 1-nb), Shakib 10-3-24-0 (4-w), Naeem 9-0-39-0 (3-w), Riyad 3-0-12-0.

 T Iqbal b Mupariwa 21
 M Hossain c Utseya b Price 43
 M Ashraful c Utseya b Rainsford 5
 R Hassan not out 52
 S Al Hasan c Taibu b Utseya 22
 M Rahim not 13
 Extras: (b-5 w-3) 8
 Total: (four wickets, 44.5 overs) 164

 Fall of wickets: 1-32, 2-42, 3-94, 4-135.

 Did not bat: M Riyad, N Islam, M Mortaza, N Hossain, . Hossain

 Bowling: Rainsford 9-0-33-1, Utseya 10-1-24-1 (2-w), Mupariwa 8.5-1-35-1, Chigumbura 6-0-35-0 (1-w), Price 10-0-20-1, Williams 1-0-12-0.

 Result: Bangladesh won by six wickets

 Man-of-the-match: Roqibul Hassan

 Series: 1-1

 Final one day international: At Dhaka, Jan 23

© Copyright 2013 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.