NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Mitchell Johnson back in Oz squad

Mitchell Johnson back in Oz squad

Last updated on: January 19, 2009 15:01 IST

Left-arm pacer Mitchell Johnson will replace rookie Ryan Harris in the 13-man Australian squad for the next two one-day international matches against South Africa.

With Michael Clarke yet to recover from a thumb injury, Michael Hussey will assume vice-captaincy of the squad for the remainder of the South African series, Cricket Australia said in Melbourne on Monday.

"The only change the National Selection Panel has made to the squad is Mitchell Johnson returning after having his workload managed for the two KFC Twenty20 Internationals and the first two Commonwealth Bank Series games," NSP Chairman Andrew Hilditch said.

"With Mitchell returning, the unfortunate fast bowler to depart the squad is Ryan Harris. From a positive point of view for Ryan, we have been very impressed with his efforts and attitude during limited opportunities and we are certain he will continue to push for Australian selection in the future," Hilditch added.

Johnson was rested from Australia's two Twenty20 and two ODI matches against South Africa.

Australia plays South Africa in the third Commonwealth Bank Series match in Sydney on Friday.

Meanwhile, CA has decided that no member of this squad would be released to play in either the preliminary final or the final of the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash. 

"Cricket Australia, the National Selection Panel and Australian team coaching staff have mutually agreed that the sole focus needs to be on the preparation and performance of this group in Australian colours during what is an important and tough series against the number two ranked one-day international team in the world, South Africa," CA Acting CEO Michael Brown said. 

"As such no players from this squad will be released for either the preliminary final or the final of the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash to be played this Wednesday or Saturday respectively," he added. 

The squad: Ricky Ponting (c), Michael Hussey (vc), Nathan Bracken, Brad Haddin, Nathan Hauritz, Ben Hilfenhaus, James Hopes, David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Shaun Tait, David Warner and Cameron White.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.