NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » West Zone lift 17th Duleep Trophy

West Zone lift 17th Duleep Trophy

Last updated on: February 10, 2009 10:16 IST

Ramesh Powar wrecked South Zone with a 10-wicket match haul as West Zone lifted their 17th Duleep Trophy title after overwhelming the hosts by 274 runs in the five-day final in Chennai on Monday.

Chasing an improbable 678 for victory, South Zone's fight ended at 403 for nine after injured tail-ender Vinay Kumar did not come out to bat.

Off-spinner Powar starred with the ball for West Zone and finished with a match haul of 10 for 187, seven of which came in the second innings.

Powar had second innings figures of 7 for140.

Resuming at the overnight score of 232 for three, skipper S Badrinath (59) and wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik (75) toiled before their dismissal triggered a collapse.

The duo put on 121 runs for the fourth wicket before Badrinath was caught at long on by Powar off the bowling of Rajesh Pawar.

Badrinath, a centurion in the first innings, stroked eight fours during his fighting knock in the second essay.

Karthik was unfortunate to be dismissed hit wicket off Powar.

While watching the ball go to the 'keeper after shouldering a Powar delivery, Karthik dragged his right leg back ending up disturbing the stumps in the process.

Karthik hit five fours and three sixes during his stay at the crease.

R Ashwin played a valiant unbeaten 46-run innings -- studded with eight fours -- and combined with M Suresh (28) for a half-century stand but the host team's tail could not offer much support.

Shadab Jakati contributed 22 runs but the match and the title had all but gone to West Zone by then.

Powar scalped five of the six wickets that fell today on a crumbling pitch.

For West Zone's Wasim Jaffer, the triumph rounded off a brilliant season as he led Mumbai to the Ranji Trophy title earlier.


West Zone (1st innings):
P Patel lbw b Ashwin 27
W Jaffer b Jakati 69
A Rahane lbw b Ashwin 165
C Pujara lbw b Ashwin 14
B Thaker c Dravid b Sreesanth 73
A Nayar c Karthik b Sreesanth 0
S Trivedi lbw b Jakati 23
K Jadhav c Karthik b Suresh 47
R Pawar c Dravid b Sreesanth 18
R Powar run out (sub PR Prem) 12
D Kulkarni not out 0
Extras: (b 4, w 1, nb 6) 11
Total: (all out; 141.4 overs; 563 mins) 459

Fall of wickets: 1-55, 2-132, 3-163, 4-297, 5-303, 6-360, 7-397, 8-424, 9-455, 10-459.

Bowling: S Sreesanth 26.2-5-108-3 (5nb, 1w); R Vinay Kumar 6.4-1-20-0 (1nb); R Ashwin 48-9-134-3; M Suresh 24.4-5-94-1; S Jakati 29-6-83-2; S Badrinath 3-0-8-0; R Uthappa 4-1-8-0.

South Zone (1st innings)
R Uthappa b Powar 32
M Vijay c Patel b Pawar 10
S Badrinath not out 100
R Dravid c Jadhav b Pawar 5
M Suresh run out (Pawar/Powar) 0
D Karthik c Jaffer b Trivedi 18
A Yadav c Jadhav b Powar 8
R Ashwin c Thaker b Powar 0
S Jakati c Thaker b Nayar 23
S Sreesanth run out (Thaker/Nayar) 2
R Vinay Kumar c Jaffer b Pawar 0
Extras: (nb 1) 1
Total: (all out; 73.2 overs; 304 mins) 199

Fall of wickets: 1-28, 2-71, 3-92, 4-94, 5-133, 6-148, 7-148, 8-191, 9-195, 10-199.

Bowling: D Kulkarni 15-6-35-0 (1nb); S Trivedi 15-5-28-1; R Pawar 23.2-6-73-3; R Powar 17-2-47-3; A Nayar 3-0-16-1.

West Zone (2nd innings):
P Patel c Uthappa b Ashwin 131
W Jaffer lbw b Sreesanth 15
A Rahane c Karthik b Badrinath 98
C Pujara c & b Suresh 14
B Thaker c Dravid b Sreesanth 22
A Nayar c Badrinath b Jakati 44
K Jadhav c Dravid b Ashwin 16
R Pawar not out 50
R Powar c Vijay b Suresh 7
D Kulkarni not out 8.
Extras: (b 9, lb 2, w 1) 12
Total: (for 8 wickets dec; 92 overs; 373 mins) 417

Did not bat: S Trivedi 

Fall of wickets: 1-35, 1-142 (Patel retired not out), 2-182, 3-196, 4-228, 5-274, 6-298, 7-383, 8-396.

Bowling: S Sreesanth 14-2-59-2; R Uthappa 3-0-12-0; R Ashwin 30-4-121-2; S Jakati 17-0-67-1 (1w); M Suresh 17-1-93-2; S Badrinath 9-1-38-1; M Vijay 2-0-16-0.

South Zone (2nd innings) (target: 678 runs)
M Vijay c Patel b Powar 63
R Uthappa c Trivedi b Pawar 94
S Badrinath c Powar b Pawar 59
R Dravid b Powar 0
K Karthik hit wicket b Powar 75
A Yadav c Pawar b Powar 14
R Ashwin not out 46
M Suresh b Powar 28
S Jakati lbw b Powar 4
S Sreesanth c Rahane b Powar 4
R Vinay Kumar absent hurt
Extras: (b 12, lb 1, w 2, nb 1) 16
Total: (all out; 100 overs; 427 mins) 403

Fall of wickets: 1-165, 2-167, 3-167, 4-288, 5-312, 6-319, 7-377, 8-399, 9-403.

Bowling: D Kulkarni 17-3-75-0; S Trivedi 16-3-51-0 (2w); R Pawar 26-1-112-2 (1nb); R Powar 38-9-140-7; A Nayar 3-0-12-0.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.