NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Dhoni, Harbhajan to get special BCCI awards

Dhoni, Harbhajan to get special BCCI awards

February 09, 2009 15:23 IST

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and star off-spinner Harbhajan Singh will get special honours during the annual BCCI Awards Ceremony scheduled in Mumbai on February 18.

BCCI secretary N Srinivasan said in a statement that Dhoni, who received the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Padma Shri, will get a special award.

Similarly, Harbhajan too will be felicitated for taking 300 Test wickets and will receive the Padma Shri.

The function will commemorate the outstanding performers of the 2007-08 season.

The BCCI had earlier announced that former Test star GR Viswanath will receive the CK Nayudu award, while opener Virender Sehwag will get the Polly Umrigar Award.

This year's Madhavrao Scindia Award will go to Saurashtra run-machine Cheteshwar Pujara and Uttar Pradesh pacer Sudeep Tyagi, with each getting Rs one lakh.

The BCCI also announced the M A Chidambaram Trophy for under-15, under-17, under-19 and under-22 categories with the winners getting Rs 50,000.

Former India captain Mithali Raj was named Best Woman Cricketer while M D Thirushkamini of Tamil Nadu won the award in the junior category. Both will get Rs 50,000 each.

List of the awardees:
 CK Nayudu Award: G R Viswanath (Rs. 15 lakhs)
 Polly Umrigar Award: Virender Sehwag (Rs 5 lakh)
 Madhavrao Scindia Award (Batsman): Cheteshwar Pujara
 Madhavrao Scindia Award (Bowler): Sudeep Tyagi
 M A Chidambaram Trophy (Under-15): Ankit Bawane (Maharashtra)
 M A Chidambaram Trophy (Under-17): Mandeep Singh (Punjab)
 M A Chidambaram Trophy (Under-19): Bhuvneshwar Kumar (UP)
 M A Chidambaram Trophy (Under-22): Rahul Dewan (Delhi)
 M A Chidambaram Trophy (Best Woman Cricketer): Mithali Raj
 M A Chidambaram Trophy (Best Junior Woman Cricketer): M D Thirushkamini.

Special Awards:
 Maharashtra: Best Overall Performance in the 2007-08 season.
 Mahendra Singh Dhoni: For receiving the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Padma Shri.
 Harbhajan Singh: For taking 300 Test wickets and receiving the Padma Shri.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.