NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » 5th ODI: Sri Lanka elect to bat

5th ODI: Sri Lanka elect to bat

February 08, 2009 10:20 IST

Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and elected to bat in the fifth one-day international against India in Colombo on Sunday.

Spinner Pragyan Ojha and pacer Praveen Kumar made way for debutant Ravindra Jadeja and Laxmipathy Balaji. India has already sealed the five-match series by taking an unassailable 4-0 lead.

The hosts also have made a couple of changes, bringing in Ajantha Mendis for Angelo Mathews and Thilan Thushara for Dilhara Fernando.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain and w/k), Rohit Sharma Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja, Laxmipathy Balaji, Irfan Pathan, Ishant Sharma.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (w/k), Thilina Kandamby, Chamara Kapugedera, Thilan Thushara, Farveez Maharoof, Nuwan Kulasekara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.