NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Sehwag to lead Delhi against Orissa

Sehwag to lead Delhi against Orissa

November 27, 2008 19:47 IST

Virender Sehwag returned to lead the Delhi team as selectors picked up a 15-member squad for the Ranji Trophy match against Orissa, scheduled from November 29 at the capital.

Also returning to the team were opener Gautam Gambhir, pacer Ishant Sharma and Virat Kohli, who all were part of the national team for the England tour, which has been called off due to the terror strike in Mumbai.

Senior selection committee headed by Chetan Chauhan met on Thursday and selected the squad.

As the Indian and England Cricket Boards mutually agreed to put off the remainder of the one-day series due to tragic Mumbai terrorist attacks, Indian players made their way to the state team.

Squad: Virender Sehwag (C), Gautam Gambhir, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Mithun Manhas, Aakash Chopra, Rajat Bhatia, Puneet Bisht, Chetnya Nanda, Pradeep Sangwan, Ishant Sharma, Sumit Narwal, Yogesh Nagar, Guarav Chhabra, Parvinder Awana.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.