NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Sachin, Irfan make the cut

Sachin, Irfan make the cut

Last updated on: November 20, 2008 23:32 IST

Sachin Tendulkar made an expected come back, while all-rounder Irfan Pathan was also included in the 15-man Indian team for the next two ODIs against England announced in Kanpur on Thursday.

RP Singh, who failed to impress the selectors in the two opportunities that he got in the ongoing series, and Murali Vijay were left out from the team.

Tendulkar's inclusion in the squad was on expected lines as he had himself opted out of the first three matches.

Pathan has been rewarded with a berth in the ODI sqaud after consistent performances in domestic cricket.

The Baroda cricketer, once a regular member of the squad, last played an ODI game against Sri Lanka in August.

Pathan's inclusion came at the expense of R P Singh, who got to play the first two matches mainly because of Ishant Sharma's injury. R P Singh could not make much of an impact in both the matches.

Murali Vijay, the surprise inclusion in the ODI squad after making his Test debut against Australia in Nagpur, did not get to play a single match and had to make way for the in-form Tendulkar.

The fourth match of the series will be played in Bangalore on Sunday while Cuttack will host the fifth match on November 26.

India currently lead the seven-match series 3-0.

The national selectors will meet again in Cuttack to pick the team for the last two one-dayers.

Although the selectors were supposed to announce the team for the remaining four matches of the series, they chose to name the squad for the next two matches.

In case India clinch the series in the next two matches, the selectors may probably rest some of the senior players and try out a few youngsters.

The team:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Munaf Patel, Virat Kohli, Pragyan Ojha, Irfan Pathan.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.