NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Ranji round-up: Day Four

Ranji round-up: Day Four

November 13, 2008 20:42 IST

A round-up of the fourth and final day's action of the Ranji Trophy Super League matches on Thursday.

Day three reports

Ravi Teja scores unbeaten century in draw against Delhi

B Ravi Teja scored a century for Hyderabad even as their match against Delhi ended in a draw at the Rajiv Gandhi International stadium.

Resuming at the overnight score of 31 for no loss, Hyderabad ended the day at 230 for three.

By virtue of their first innings lead, the hosts collected three points while Delhi had to be satisfied with just one.

Ravi Teja, who made a brilliant 113, and N Arjun Yadav, who scored 54, were at the crease when play ended for the day.

Brief scores: Hyderabad 334 and 230 for three (T Suman 52, DB Ravi Teja 113 not out, N Arjun Yadav 54 not out; M Manhas 3 for 52) drew Delhi 284.

Saurashtra beats Orissa

A five-wicket haul by Ravindra Jadeja enabled hosts Saurashtra thrash Orissa by an inning and 84 runs on the fourth and final day of their match played at the SCA stadium in Rajkot.

Orissa, who were following on after being bundled out for 302 yesterday in reply to the Saurashtra's 620-4 declared, were bowled out for 234 in 85.1 overs.

Ravindra Jadeja, who scored an unbeaten 232 in Saurashtra's first innings and added a record breaking 520 runs for the fifth wicket with Cheteshwar Pujara (302 not out), was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 5 for 44. He was ably supported by fellow spinners Rakesh Dhruve (2 for 18) and Kamlesh Makwana (2 for 92).

Saurashtra secured six points (5+1 bonus) with this win.

Brief scores: Saurashtra 620 for four decl beat Orissa 302 and 234 (Ravindra Jadeja five for 44)

AP-Maharashtra match ends in a draw

Hosts Maharashtra earned three points on the basis of a first innings lead while visitors Andhra Pradesh had to be satisfied with one, as the Elite Group B match between the two teams ended in a tame draw, at the Anant Kanhere Ground in Nashik.

In reply to AP's first innings score of 348, Maharashtra had scored 393 runs thereby earning a crucial 45-run lead.

Harshad Khadiwale, who hit a ton in the first innings to help his team get the first innings lead, was declared as the Man of the Match.

Earlier, resuming at their overnight score of 2-0, AP declared their second innings at 210-5, setting Maharashtra a target of 166.

The hosts scored 27 runs for the loss of one wicket in the remaining eight overs.

Brief scores: Andhra Pradesh 348 and 210 for five (Sumanth 58 not out, LCP Reddy 53) drew Maharashtra 393 and 27 for one. 

Karnataka avoid defeat against Tamil Nadu

KB Pawan's 84 and Manish Pandey's unbeaten 57 helped Karnataka avoid defeat against Tamil Nadu in the Group B match at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

The hosts who were asked to follow on after heir first innings folded for just 267 in reply to Tamil Nadu's 531, resumed the final day at 48 for no loss. 

And they needed a gritty display from Pawan and Pandey to coast to 269 for four and ensure a face-saving draw.

Brief scores: Tamil Nadu 531 drew Karnataka 267 and 269 for 4 (KB Pawan 84, Manish Pandey 57 not out, Bharath Chipli 33, R Ashwin 3 for 71).

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.