NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Ranji round-up

Ranji round-up

Last updated on: November 12, 2008 00:23 IST

A round-up of the second day's play pf the Ranji Trophy Super League matches on Tuesday.

Gujarat staring at follow-on against Mumbai

Gujarat were staring at follow-on on the second day of their Group A match against Mumbai, as they struggled to 77 for six at close of play at the Lalbhai Contractor Stadium in Surat.

Mumbai, who saw some fantastic batting by skipper Wasim Jaffer and Ajinkya Rahane on Monday, added another 159 runs before ending their first innings at 486.

Gujarat started off on a disappointing note with opener Priyank Panchal getting out in the fourth over after scoring four runs.

Skipper Parthiv Patel also did not contribute to the scoreboard and was trapped in front of the wicket by Ajit Agarkar for just eight runs in the seventh over.

Nilesh Modi was the next to go, caught by Jaffer off Sairaj Bahutule, leaving Gujarat at 37 for three in the 16th over. Gujarat lost two quick wickets of Niraj Patel and Sunny Patel in successive overs and were down to 67 for five in the 29th over.

Bhavik Thaker was at the crease at 23 along with Mohnish Parmar at stumps. Dhaval Kulkarni destroyed the Gujarat middle-order claiming four wickets while Agarkar and Bahutule bagged one wicket each.

Earlier, resuming at their overnight score of 327 for two, Jaffer got out in the second over without adding to his score of 172.

Brief scores: Mumbai 486 (Wasim Jaffer 172) vs Gujarat 77 for six 

Hyderabad post 334, Delhi reach 124/3

A superb 130-run knock by S Anoop Pai helped Hyderabad post 334 in their first innings against Delhi at the Rajiv Gandhi International stadium.     

In reply, the visitors reached 124 for three at the end of play.

Resuming at the overnight score of 247, Hyderabad went on to pile up 334 with Pai adding 28 runs to his tally. 

Delhi's Sangwan claimed four wickets while Ashish Nehra, Parwinder Awana, Rajat Bhatia and A Jain took one wicket each. 

In reply, Delhi's first innings started on a positive note with openers Aakash Chopra and Shikhar Dhawan making 51 and 47, respectively.

Brief scores: Hyderabad 334 (S Anoop Pai 130) vs Delhi 134 for three (Aakash Chopra 51)

AP all out at 348, Maharashtra 205 for 1

Replying to Andhra Pradesh's 348 all out, Maharashtra were 205 for one on the second day of Elite Group B match at the Anant Kanhere grounds in Nashik.

Rohan Bhonsale (72) and Ameya Shrikhande (23) were at the crease for Maharashtra.

Harshad Khadiwale (103), along with Rohan Bhonsale, gave Maharashtra a good start.

Khadiwale completed his century 15 minutes after tea break. He hit 16 boundries in his century, soon after Bhonsale also completed his half century, which comprised six boundries.

Maharashtra lost their first wicket in the form of Khadiwale, who was caught and bowled by Kalyankrishnan.

Earlier, resuming at their overnight score of 262 for six, Andhra were eventually all out at 348 in 117.3 overs and 509 minutes.

Brief scores: Andhra Pradesh 348 (S Fallah 6 for 102) vs Maharashtra 205 for one (Harshad Khadiwale 103, Rohan Bhonsale 72 not out)

Pathan scalps five, leaves UP reeling at 251 for 8

Irfan Pathan wrecked the Uttar Pradesh line-up with a five-wicket haul helping Baroda put the visiting side on the mat at 251 for eight in their first innings on Tuesday.

Irfan's precision with the ball made up for Baroda's first innings collapse in which they were all out for 235.

At the draw of stumps UP had a slim 16-run lead over the hosts.

Brief scores: Baroda 235 vs Uttar Pradesh 251 for eight (Tanmay Srivastav 79, Mohammad Kaif 51)

Rajasthan staring at innings defeat against Punjab

Rajasthan's batting collapsed yet again and they were reduced to 57 for 6 in their second innings against Punjab at the PCA stadium.

At the end of the day's play, Rajasthan's top order batsman Vineet Saxena (36) was waging a lone battle with Sumit Mathur (6) as his partner after the visitors witnessed a batting collapse yet again.

Rajasthan, who were bundled out for 133 on Monday with speed duo of Manpreet Gony and Gagandeep Singh taking four wickets each, repeated the script and four of their batsmen Shubhanshu Vijay, Gagan Khoda, skipper Venugopal Rao and Ashok Meenaria failed to even open their accounts.

Earlier on Tuesday, Punjab resumed their innings at an overnight score of 115 for 2, with opener Sunny Sohal (66) and Uday Kaul (9) at the crease.

Playing on the home ground Sohal brought up his 100. His innings took Punjab to 262 all out earning them a vital lead of 129 runs. V Rao was rewarded with his crucial wicket.

Brief scores: Rajasthan 133 and  57 for six vs Punjab 262 (Sunny Sohal 100)

Saurashtra in command after Pujara-Jadeja show

Saurashtra's Cheteshwar Pujara and Ravindra Jadeja shared a record-breaking 520-run unbeaten partnership for the fifth wicket to help the hosts pile a daunting 620-4 declared against Orissa at the SCA stadium in Rajkot.

Saurashtra, resuming at their overnight 273-4, did not lose any wicket on Tuesday as both the overnight batsmen, Pujara (302 not out) and Jadeja (232 not out) notched up another 347 runs.

Pujara, who had scored two triple centuries against Maharashtra and Mumbai in U-22 CK Nayudu tournament some 20 days ago, hit his first triple century in the Ranji Trophy. He spent 600 minutes at the crease and hit 33 fours and three sixes while facing 421 balls.

Meanwhile, Ravindra Jadeja, who faced 362 balls during his 454 minutes stint in the middle, smashed 20 fours to score his maiden double hundred.

Replying to the hosts huge score, Orissa openers Bikas Pathy and former Test opener, S S Das gave their side a good start and added 46 runs in remaining 15 overs without being separated.

Brief scores: Saurashtra 620 for four decl (Cheteshwar Pujara 302 not out, Ravindra Jadeja 232 not out) vs Orissa 46 for no loss 

TN amass 531 against Karnataka

Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan hit a 193-run knock as Tamil Nadu amassed 531 in their first innings against Karnataka on the second day of their Group B encounter at M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

In reply, the hosts were 82 for one at stumps.

Earlier, resuming at 325 for four, the visitors consolidated their innings with Sivaramakrishnan going strong. He put on 150 runs for the fifth wicket with Suresh Kumar (90) before being stumped by V S Thilak Naidu seven runs short of what would have been a deserving double century. Facing 355 deliveries, he smashed 24 fours and four sixes.

Kumar hit 12 fours and three sixes in his 201-ball essay. For Karnataka, Sunil Joshi bagged four for 136, while Vinay Kumar scalped three for 90. 

Brief scores: Tamil Nadu 531 (V Sivaramakrishnan 193, Arun Karthik 148, Suresh Kumar 90; Sunil Josh 4/136, Vinay Kumar 3/90, C Raghu 2/57) vs Karnataka 82 for one (Bharat Chipli 26, K B Pawan 23 not out).

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.