NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Mumbai storm into Ranji Trophy semi-finals

Mumbai storm into Ranji Trophy semi-finals

December 29, 2008 16:43 IST

Riding on Ajit Agarkar's five-wicket haul Mumbai stormed into the semi-finals of the Ranji Trophy with a convincing nine-wicket victory over Himachal Pradesh at the Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad on Monday.

Resuming on 200 for five, Himachal Pradesh could manage only 87 runs before being bundled out for 287, giving Mumbai an easy target of 43 runs.

Mumbai cruised to victory in the 14th over losing opener Ajinkya Rahane, who fell leg before wicket to Bhavin Thakkar for 17.

Paras Dogra smashed a blazing 90 from just 97 deliveries with 14 boundaries and two sixes, while opener Sangram Singh scored a patient 58. But the rest of the batsmen failed to come to terms with Agarkar, who claimed five for 78 in 18 overs.

Ajay Thakur (17) added 41 runs for the ninth wicket with Vikramjeet Malik to help Himachal avoid the ignominy of an innings defeat. Malik was the last wicket to fall when he was caught and bowled by Ramesh Powar after a quick 26 from 24 deliveries.

Mumbai will play Saurashtra in the semi-finals after they beat Karnataka by five wickets at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.


Himachal 1st innings: 250

Mumbai 1st innings: 495

Himachal Pradesh 2nd innings (overnight 200-5):
B Thakar c Samant b Agarkar 4
Sangram Singh lbw Agarkar 58
V Indulkar c Jaffer b Powar 24
M Sharma c (sub) b Nayar 8
P Dogra c Samant b Agarkar 90
A Mannu c Powar b Bahutule 6
S Singh c Sharma b Agarkar 18
V Bhatia lbw Agarkar 0
A Thakur run out (Bahutule) 17
V Malik not out 26
J Mehta c & b Powar 14

Extras: (B-0, LB-6, NB-16) 22

Total: (all out in 68.4 overs) 287

Fall of wickets: 1-04, 2-61, 3-82, 4-151, 5-188, 6-219, 7-219, 8-224, 9-265, 10-287.

Bowling: A Agarkar 18-4-78-5, D Kulkarni 19-3-90-0, A Nayar 9-0-21-1, R Shaikh 5-0-18-0, R Powar 10.4-0-42-2, S Bahutule

Mumbai 2nd innings:
V Samant not out 24
A Rahanel b Thakar 17
A Nayar not out 2

Extras: 0

Total: (for 1 wicket, in 13.4 overs) 43

Fall of wickets: 1-26.

Bowling: P Dogra 4-0-11-0, Sangram Singh 4-0-10-0, Bhavin Thakar 3.4-0-18-1, A Mannu 2-0-4-0.