NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » India elect to bat in second Test

India elect to bat in second Test

December 19, 2008 10:17 IST

- Scorecard

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat first in the second and final cricket Test against England in Mohali on Friday.

India went in with the same side that won the opening Test by six wickets in Chennai.

For England, Stuart Broad, who missed the first Test due to a hamstring injury, replaced Steve Harmison.

The start of play was delayed by about 20 minutes because of bad light as a result of foggy conditions.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, VVS Laxman, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Amit Mishra and Ishant Sharma.

England: Kevin Pietersen (captain), Andrew Strauss, Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, Andrew Flintoff, Matt Prior (wk), Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Monty Panesar.

Umpires: Asad Rauf and Daryl Harper.

Third Umpire: Suresh Shastri.

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe.