NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News 
« Back

Race to Raisina: MPs, MLAs to vote for Prez poll today

Write a comment

July 17, 2017 08:49

The elected representative of the Parliament and various state assemblies will vote to elect India's next President today.

Ruling National Democratic Alliance candidate Ram Nath Kovind has locked horns with opposition candidate Meira Kumar in the race to the country's top constitutional post.

Voting is scheduled be held from 10 am to 5 pm.

President Pranab Mukherjee's term is expiring on July 25. 

In the last presidential election in 2012, Mukherjee had defeated P A Sangma and got over 69 per cent votes.

Both Kovind and Kumar are from the Dalit community and have canvassed hard by visiting states to seek support of legislators.

Stars spotted!  What's this?

What was Arjun Rampal doing in London?
Reader Ashish M sends us a picture from London.

More stars spotted

Met a celebrity?
Email us photos & videos